News

EllisDon Reflects on National Truth and Reconciliation Day

SHARE

Today, EllisDon reflects on National Truth and Reconciliation Day.

In an effort to ensure that the tragic history and ongoing legacy of residential schools are never forgotten, we will observe a two-minute and 15-second moment of silence at 2:15 PM local time to honour the survivors of the Residential School system and remember that Every Child Matters. EllisDon employees across Canada will also be wearing orange shirts, designed by Lance Tailfeather of Ghost Rattle Arts, in recognition and support of the victims of the Residential School system.

We encourage everyone to join us today in this moment of silence and in donning their orange shirt.

We also invite you to tune in to “Indigenous Perspectives on the Pope's Apology", a panel discussion being hosted by The Gord Downie & Chanie Wenjack Fund that focuses on what the apology means to those impacted by residential schools, its effects on reconciliation, and how this will shape Indigenous communities and intergenerational relationships across Turtle Island.

For more information about the panel, click here: https://downiewenjack.ca/events/national-day-for-truth-and-reconciliation/ (https://downiewenjack.ca/events/national-day-for-truth-and-reconciliation/)

Below are links to support you on your journey for the truth about Indigenous Peoples of Canada and how you can continue the Reconciliation process.

Education & Articles:

  • Overview of the IRS Booklet (https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sEzFTvCRqJxKxZmPxY_LAyOWY62lzj3G/view?usp=sharing) Indian Residential School Booklet explaining the residential school system
  • Indigenous peoples atlas of canada (https://indigenouspeoplesatlasofcanada.ca/article/what-is-indigenous/): provides information regarding First Nations’ culture and traditions and their perspective on truth and reconciliation
  • History of First Nations in Canada (https://www.rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca/eng/1307460755710/1536862806124): Provides an overview on the history of the indigenous populations of Canada, from pre-colonial to present times
  • Reconciliation through Indigenous Education (https://pdce.educ.ubc.ca/reconciliation/): An online course provided by University of British Columbia
  • Windspeaker News - Queen Elizabeth II (https://windspeaker.com/news/windspeaker-news/indigenous-response-queen-elizabeths-death-muted-canada) : Indigenous response to Queen Elizabeth’s death muted in Canada

Books & Gifts:

  • 48 Books by Indigenous Writers (https://www.cbc.ca/books/48-books-by-indigenous-writers-to-read-to-understand-residential-schools-1.6056204) : 48 books by Indigenous writers to read to understand residential schools
  • Raven Reads (https://ravenreads.org/) : Raven Reads was founded to connect people with authentic Indigenous books and gifts. It has been designed to help you learn while supporting Indigenous authors, artists, and entrepreneurs.
  • Strong Nations Publishing (https://www.strongnations.com/) : Strong Nations sources Indigenous resources, as well as resources (for kids, teens, and adults) that are connected to Indigenous cultures, for classrooms, organizations, and homes
  • Database of Indigenous-Owned Businesses (https://www.sac-isc.gc.ca/rea-ibd) : Database of Indigenous-owned businesses
  • Orange Shirt Day Online Store (https://leadingedgepromo.ca/product-category/orange-shirt-day/) : In 2016 The Leading Edge team joined the Orange Shirt Day movement towards Reconciliation, and since then they have grown to include their Indigenous Pink Campaign, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and 2-Spirit People and most recently their Pride Campaign.

Films & Documentaries:

  • National Film Board's Indigenous Cinema (https://www.nfb.ca/indigenous-cinema/?&film_lang=en&sort=year:desc,title&year_min=1939&year_max=2021) : A showcasing of films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians, including a rich online collection of Indigenous-made films
  • Innu Resistance (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSTrfEshn3Q): This documentary shows the events of March 9th, 2012, during the roadblock of the 138, and describes, with exactitude, the action and emotion of the moment.
  • Stolen Children (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdR9HcmiXLA) : The Residential School experience and its devastating effect on survivors, their children, and grandchildren

Podcasts & Series:

  • Residential Schools Podcast Series (https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/residential-schools-podcast-series) : Residential Schools is a three-part podcast series that aims to commemorate the history and legacy of residential schools, and honour the stories of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Survivors, their families, and communities.
  • The Quill Sisters Podcast (https://www.listennotes.com/podcasts/epekwitk-quill-sisters-epekwitk-quill-sisters-p8L5k_XGtMu/) : Join a group of Mi'kmaq porcupine quill workers as they share the stories behind their art. Cheryl and Kay talk about their experiences as contemporary quillers using traditional techniques.
  • The In-Between People Podcast (https://anchor.fm/niizhaayek-alliance) : Uplifting the stories of special guests and unpacking colonization’s effects on current views regarding the 2SLGBTQ+ community; Reclaiming the place of two-spirit people in Canada’s Northern communities.
  • Canadaland - Thunder Bay Series (https://www.canadaland.com/shows/thunder-bay/) : Canadaland – Thunder Bay Series. Canadaland is a news site and podcast network whose primary focus is on Canadian media, news, current affairs, and politics. The Thunder Bay Series dives into Indigenous content.
  • The Henceforward (http://www.thehenceforward.com/episodes/) : Black Indigenous identity in Canada

Charity & Donations:

  • Indigenous Works - Kochita Charity (https://indigenousworks.ca/en/kocihta/donate) : Consider taking action by making a donation to Kocihta, a charity whose mandate is to help Indigenous youth reach their career and human resource potential including youth with disabilities.
  • Gord Downie & Chanie Wenjack Fund (https://downiewenjack.ca/) : Inspired by Chanie’s story – who died at age 12 while trying to flee from a residential school to be with his family - and Gord’s call to action to build a better Canada, the Gord Downie & Chanie Wenjack Fund aims to build cultural understanding and create a path toward reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous people. The goal of the DWF is to improve the lives of Indigenous people by building awareness, education and connection between all people in Canada.
  • Charities Serving Indigenous Peoples (https://www.canadahelps.org/en/explore/charities/category/indigenous-peoples/) : Charities serving Indigenous Peoples share the common goal of addressing issues vital to Indigenous Peoples culture, health, well-being, and the reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Peoples.